IGNORED

Can I run my heated gear on half power from accessory socket?

Over

Weds next week sees me trading the 2013 RT for a 2015 model.

I have a full set of WarmNSafe heated gear and remote troller whic currently have a hard fused wire directly to the battery.

I asked the dealer if they could swap the wires over, but it's more than their jobs worth and BMW engineers cannot fit non BMW parts on premises and they are not insured and it's probably too difficult and they will all be too busy..

Could I run them on half power for the 200 mile round trip via the accessory socket which i see is rated at 10a and is an electronic cut out (as opposed to a fuse that needs replacing)

Weather has turned cold and I've been using heated gear for a few years now, and don't have the many layers that I used to use ( OK I cannot get my jacket and pants on with the many layers for non heated runs).

Would it last ?

Afternoon Over

About all you could do is try it--

In the past I haven't seen it work out very good but it REALLY depends on your controller & it's pulsing / phasing.

Even at 1/2 power setting your controller could pulse full power long enough to trip the circuit.

On my personal dual Garbing's controller it will usually work for while on mid power setting but sooner or later both channels will pulse on together long enough to trip the 10 amp breaker.

Probably the only way you will make the heat work (dependably) is to only use part of your heated gear OR (pre) make up a jumper harness to allow your heated gear to work in series.

OR-- make up a power harness to allow you to hook your controller directly to the battery using rings or clamps with a fuse in the pig tail. (just run it out from under front of seat)