IGNORED

Wilber 641 or 640??

EddyQ

I am seriously considering Wilber shocks. Is the 641 shock worth the extra $$? I'm not taking my RT to the track regularly, but I am an engineer who loves to tweak (however doesn't have much time too).

My priorities with this shock change is:

1) much improved handling (over my old OEM) which I think would easily be achieved with either. However, after spending $$$$, I wouldn't be very happy if I found I needed a compression tweak and couldn't do it with the 640.

2) longevity - if 640 lasts more miles it wins. But if both technologies are about the same, then this don't much matter.

3) ease to adjust - ok, so I am assuming the 641 will be more work since it has separate compression/rebound which is fine if I would notice a handling difference at the end. However, I am no handling/shock expert and more adjustments has the remote possibility of making handling worse.

4) How is the 641 reservoir mounted on a '07 RT? Do I need to invent/build something?

I'm certain the remote hydraulic pre-load adjuster is a must for me. While I do most my riding solo (commutes and such), I occasionally take a loaded trip (still solo) and wouldn't want to pull out a spanner wrench.

I'm thinking the 640 is what I want. But if any of you who have upgraded with the 641, I'd love to here your thoughts. Would you do it again?? ect . . .

Check with the merchant you plan to buy them through and you'll get great advice. I went to Wilbers about four years ago and love them!

All Wilbers shocks are fully rebuildable, meaning when they have emulsified you can just have them serviced and they are as good as new for a fraction of a new shock.

All spares are available so no problems if something goes wrong.

In short both the 640 and the 641 will last as long as you can get them serviced. :thumbsup:

Regarding settings: I've only had WESA from Wilbers so far, but I've had aftermarket shocks on almost all my bikes from a variety of manufacturers.