IGNORED

Opinion/help with current front tire wear now squaring off - only 4k

paRTy

First off, thanks in advance for your help and opinions.

Bike: 2014 RTW

I have Pirelli Angel tires. "A" spec on rear. Looks and functions find. Love the tires.

Front tire has 4,000 miles, non "A" spec. Noticed it is now squaring off a bit. Going on a 1,000 mile trip middle of July. Would "you" replace w new? Thought this tire would go 5-7K. Peace of mind tells me to replace. Thoughts? Anyone else have this tire up front, and if so, what mileage did you get?

thx.

Morn Party. I am by no means a tire expert but I do go thru a fair amount of them. Should you replace ? Depends. First , how squared off are they, do you have noticeable adverse turn in characteristics now, how many miles do you expect to put on tire before trip and do you have previous experience with this make of tire so you can judge the future rate of degradation ? Personally, too many variables for my small mind , so decided to just mount my own tires ( a lot easier than I thought ) and if in doubt, switch out the older tire for a new one. I could always put the old one back on later to run it out on shorter less demanding rides. Something to. be said for peace of mind on a trip. Just my thoughts

szurszewski

You expected 5-7k miles, you're at 4000 now with a bit of squaring and wondering if you should change before a 1000 mile trip that's six weeks away? That math says yes since, assuming you ride a bit between now and then, you'd be in the middle of your expected end-of-life mileage for the tire on or at the end of the trip anyway (and you're already seeing more wear than expected).

If you're going to have to change out right after the trip anyway, why not replace it a week or so before the trip (just 'cause I never like to have anything brand new at the start of a trip) and enjoy the new rubber while you're traveling?

joeb and szurszewksi -thx for replies.