IGNORED

RE: Tire Change and Cycle Gear

Skywagon

My bike is getting close to time for new shoes.  Silly me I always just pay BMW shop to install them.  I am thinking about ordering tires on-line and taking them to cycle gear for install.  Any experience with this?  Will they scratch my rims or should I just take the bike to the dealer...again. Thanks for input and experience.

I have no experience with CG. Do you not have to buy your tires at CG for them to install?

They have 2 prices.  If you buy from them it is cheaper than if you don't....but that is offset in internet prices from my research so far.

szurszewski

I ordered a set of tires from revzilla Thursday. They shipped this morning and this afternoon I got an email from revzilla offering mounting of those tires at cycle gear. Says $25 for street tires or $20 for off-road and includes “lifetime balancing” - I assume that price is per wheel, but I don’t know. I’m sure it’s for bringing the wheels in off the bike. 

Doesn't Revzilla own Cycle Gear?  I've seen Revzilla's offering too and, like szurszewski, assumed the price was each wheel delivered off the bike.  

8 hours ago, szurszewski said:

I ordered a set of tires from revzilla Thursday. They shipped this morning and this afternoon I got an email from revzilla offering mounting of those tires at cycle gear. Says $25 for street tires or $20 for off-road and includes “lifetime balancing” - I assume that price is per wheel, but I don’t know. I’m sure it’s for bringing the wheels in off the bike. 

I do know they require the wheels off the bike. 

This:

Motion Pro 08-0536 BeadPro Forged Steel Tire Bead Breaker and Lever Tool Set

And this:

61c6XIlMSTL._AC_SL1500_.jpg

And if ye be worried about scratches:

Image result for Motion Pro 08-0546 RimShield II

Heat them in the sun/heater/fireplace, 30 minutes you're done.  Two-three tire changes, you've returned your investment.  I've never balanced any rear tire and never had an issue.

szurszewski